Introduction to Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarship

A Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarship is a unique opportunity to study for a two-year Master’s degree in low or middle-income countries of the Commonwealth.

Aimed at students who are committed to creating change in their communities, the scholarships are a life-changing opportunity to experience a new country and culture, to broaden horizons, and to build a global network that will last a lifetime.

Through cultural exchange and academic collaboration, Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholars help bring about positive change and find solutions to the shared challenges we face – both in their home countries and those that host them. As an active part of the Commonwealth network, scholars will help shape its future.

CHECK: Swansea University Scholarships for Undergraduate and Postgraduate – UK/EU and International Students

Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarship Details

Who can apply? International Students (Check out the list of eligible countries at the end).

Scholarship offered by? Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth

Host Country(s)/Regions: Srilanka, South Pacific, South Africa, Papua New Guinea, Namibia.

Host Institution(s): The Universities in the above regions (Check out the list of Universities below).

Level of the Study: Masters / MS / MPhil

Scholarship worth: Fully Funded

Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarship Benefits/Financial Coverage

These scholarships are providing fully-funded awards to the selected students which are:

  • The scholarship will cover full tuition fees.
  • A return ticket (economy class).
  • An arrival allowance
  • Living allowance
  • Health insurance
  • A regular stipend

These benefits do not apply to distance learning courses.

Eligibility Criteria for Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarship

  • To apply for this scholarship, the applicant must hold refugee status in or a permanent citizen of one of the members in Commonwealth countries other than the country you are applying.
  • The applicant must have completed a bachelor’s (undergraduate) degree or equivalent.

Required Documents

Make sure that you have the following ​ documentation to upload to your application:

  • High school certificate
  • Undergraduate transcript (and graduation certificate)
  • Two reference letters– preferably academic
  • Scan of passport or national ID card
  • Proof of English language ability if English is not your first language (English Proficiency certificate or IELTS or TOEFL)

ALSO CHECK: The University of Leeds, Fully Funded Scholarships for Undergraduate and Graduate Students

The List of Host Countries and Institutions

QECS Awards in Srilanka:

IBMBB, University of Colombo

University of Sri Jayewardenepura

QECS Awards in South Pacific:

The University of the South Pacific

Fiji National University

QECS Awards in South Africa:

University of Johannesburg

Rhodes University

University of Stellenbosch

University of Venda

North-West University

Tshwane University of Technology

University of Pretoria

QECS Awards in Papua New Guinea:

University of Technology

QECS Awards in Namibia:

University of Namibia


The last date to apply for Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarship is 9th July


List of Eligible Countries for Queen Elizabeth Commonwealth Scholarship


  • Botswana
  • Cameroon
  • Gambia, The
  • Ghana
  • Kenya
  • Kingdom of eSwatini
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Mauritius
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nigeria
  • Rwanda
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • South Africa
  • Uganda
  • United Republic of Tanzania
  • Zambia


  • Bangladesh
  • Brunei Darussalam
  • India
  • Malaysia
  • Maldives
  • Pakistan
  • Singapore
  • Sri Lanka

Caribbean and Americas

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Bahamas, The
  • Barbados
  • Belize
  • Canada
  • Dominica
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • Jamaica
  • Saint Lucia
  • St Kitts and Nevis
  • St Vincent and The Grenadines
  • Trinidad and Tobago


  • Cyprus
  • Malta
  • United Kingdom


  • Australia
  • Fiji
  • Kiribati
  • Nauru
  • New Zealand
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Samoa
  • Solomon Islands
  • Tonga
  • Tuvalu
  • Vanuatu

Suggested Scholarships for You!